Torch - Fall 2016

Havergal College Havergal College and Foundations Governing Bodies

Havergal College Board of Governors

The Havergal College Foundation The Foundation receives and invests donations intended for Havergal College infrastructure, student assistance and other programs. It oversees the investment of funds raised by the Havergal community, ensuring that the assets of The Foundation are invested in a prudent and effective manner. The Havergal College Foundation is a registered charity under the Income Tax Act (Canada) and, as such, is exempt from income taxes and may issue receipts to donors for income tax purposes. The Foundation is incorporated as a corporation without share capital under the laws of Ontario and its Board of Trustees is independent of Havergal College.

The Havergal College Educational Foundation Inc. (U.S.) The Havergal College Educational Foundation Inc. (U.S.) was incorporated in 1977 in New York to allow U.S. donors to make gifts to Havergal. The U.S. Foundation makes grants to The Havergal College Foundation in Toronto to support the programs and activities of the school.

The Board of Governors is responsible for the overall stewardship of Havergal College. The Board sets broad policy directions through strategic planning and goal-setting and ensures the financial sustainability of the school. The Board is responsible for appointing the Principal, to whom it delegates authority over the administration of the school and matters of curriculum and staffing. The Board oversees the school and remains at arm’s length from the administration. GOVERNORS 2015–16 Barrie Laver, Chair Martha Cohen Simmons 1999, Vice Chair Jen McCarthy Bidwell 1996 Pam Bryant Betsey Chung Helen-Kay Davy Janet MacPhail 1979 Michael Meneguzzi Michael Newton Linda Nicholls (The Rt. Rev.) (to April 2016) Melanie Plet 1992 Sumathi Pundit Debbie Simpson Tim Stinson (as of October 2015) Edwina Dick Stoate 1975 Marianne Taggio Jeremy Walker Richard Willoughby (to October 2015) Brian Wynn Kate Balsara-Pardoe, Corporate Treasurer Jill Azis, Corporate Secretary Jennifer Dolman 1984 Martha Merry Fell 1987 Nagy Ghobrial Laurie Hay Chris Matthews

DIRECTORS 2015–16 Louise Park MacMillan 1972 Cynthia Rutherford 1988 Nicole Tzetzo

TRUSTEES 2015–16 Tim Stinson, Chair

Sarah Bull 1989 David Dal Bello Helen-Kay Davy Kendra Dawson Doersam 1995 Andrew Moor Christine Morin-Higgs Jeremy Walker Richard Willoughby Mary-Kathleen Delicaet Young 1985

Kate Balsara-Pardoe, Treasurer Louise Yearwood, Secretary


Made with