Torch - Fall 2015

Student Awards

Havergal Student Awards 2014–15 The Havergal community congratulates the following students for their achievements for the 2014–15 school year. Special awards ceremonies were held on June 8 for the Junior School and on October 8 for the Upper School to honour and acknowledge the many award recipients.

JUNIOR SCHOOL GRADE 6 PRIZES AND AWARDS The Hulbert Holmes Award: Maggie McKee The Ismay McCarrick Award: Emma McCurdy-Franks

Mathematics – Advanced Placement Statistics: Rachel Zigelstein Mathematics – Data Management: Aria Qian & Ayana Sunami Science – Physics: Angelina Pan Social Sciences – Education for a Changing World: Skylar Page Social Sciences – Law: Caprice Herjavec Technology Education – Computer and Information Science: Jennifer Chan UPPER SCHOOL SCHOLARSHIPS The Wendy J. Thompson Scholarship – Grade 7: Natalie Lo & Sienna Wall The Wendy J. Thompson Scholarship – Grade 9: Elizabeth Fletcher & Karinya Linford Havergal House Scholarship – Frances Ridley: Anna McCracken Havergal House Scholarship – Ellen Knox: Olivia Roland Havergal House Scholarship – Marian Wood: Ava Jeffrey Havergal House Scholarship – Kate Leonard: Nelia Fadavi & Stephanie Oh Havergal House Scholarship – Margaret Taylor: Jennifer Zhang Havergal House Scholarship – Edith Nainby: Sophia Pawliw Havergal House Scholarship – Agnes Hansen: Hannah Tahami & Claudia Velimirovic Havergal House Scholarship – Catherine Steele: Mia Morassutti Havergal House Scholarship – Mary Dennys: Jacqueline Newsome Havergal House Scholarship – Marcelle De Freitas: Nadia Salem The Temerty Family Scholarship – Stephanee Storr UPPER SCHOOL SPECIAL AWARDS The Robin Urquhart Beddis & Jean Macpherson Urquhart Scholarship: Jenny (Hyo Joo) Kim The Boarders Cup: Tiffany Conolly The New Girl Cup: Katie Ready-Walters Havergal College Parent Association Prize – Grade 7: Seher Moosabhoy Havergal College Parent Association Prize – Grade 8: Catherine Thomas Havergal College Parent Association Prize – Grade 9: Anne Broughton Havergal College Parent Association Prize – Grade 10: Alexandra Koch-Fitsialos Havergal College Parent Association Prize – Grade 11: Taylor (TJ) Warkentin Old Girls Prize – Grade 9: Elizabeth Schnekenburger

The Laurene Watson Award: Theodora Jucan The Levy, Revell, Wilkinson Award: Kelly Sun The Mohan Award: Ella Braun

PRIZE FOR HIGHEST GENERAL PROFICIENCY Grade 7: Sabrina Wong Grade 8: Charlotte Orcutt Grade 9 (Class of 1937 MacDonald Memorial Prize): Selina Chow & Sabrina Mastroianni Grade 10 (Class of 1937 MacDonald Memorial Prize): Keely Douglas Grade 11 (The Luella Gertrude Lovering Memorial Prize): Angelina Pan

UPPER SCHOOL ACADEMIC AWARDS The Ancerl Prize for Music: Anna Wellner

The O’Rorke Middle School Music Award: Band: Ariana Seyedmakki The O’Rorke Middle School Music Award: Strings: Amanda Hacker The O’Rorke Middle School Music Award: Vocal: Sophia Park The Katherine B. Moran Prize for Fine Arts: Diane Kim Dorothy Bevan Prize for Junior Mathematics in Grade 10: Erin Wong Dorothy O’Dell Memorial Prize for Mathematics in Grade 11: Jenny Bao Dorothy Symons Scholarship in Canadian Studies: Keely Douglas The Winifride Prestwich Prize for Geography: Sarah (Yining) Zhao The Louise Cholette-Rees Award: Natalie Cao The Marcelle De Freitas and Elaine McGillivray Prize for Modern Languages: Jane Yearwood Constance Pudan Prize for French in Grade 11: Keely Douglas, Lilly Li & Coco Wang The Yale Book Prize: Sarah Alexis Gritis SENIOR YEAR ACADEMIC PRIZES The Arts – Band: Alara Crombie & Shalley Xu Languages – Classical Civilization: Amelia Newsome Languages – Grade 12 French: Alara Crombie Languages – Advanced Placement French: Stephanie Ross Languages – Latin: Angelina Pan Languages – Mandarin: Jennifer Chan & Katrina Ai Qi Yeung Languages – Spanish: Daniela Krcmar & Lilly Li Mathematics – Advanced Placement Calculus and Vectors: Angelina Pan The Merle Storey Mathematics Prize: Angelina Pan Class of 1937 Proficiency Prize in Science: Angelina Pan

Old Girls Prize – Grade 10: Evelyn Tokatlidis Old Girls Prize – Grade 11: Rachel Zigelstein

The W. G. Charlton Prize for Creative Writing: Angelina Pan The Middle School Award for Leadership: Lara Ground The Class of 1956 Mary Dennys Torch Award: Jane Yearwood The Havergal Award for Exceptional Academic Standing: Angelina Pan


Made with FlippingBook. PDF to flipbook with ease