Torch - Fall 2013

Havergal College Board of Governors and Foundations

Havergal College Board of Governors

The Havergal College Foundation

The Havergal College Educational Foundation Inc. (U.S.) The Havergal College Educational Foundation Inc. (U.S.) was incorporated in 1977 in New York to allow U.S. donors to make gifts to Havergal. The U.S. Foundation makes grants to The Havergal College Foundation in Toronto to support the programs and activities of the school.

The Board of Governors is responsible for the overall stewardship of Havergal College. The Board sets broad policy directions through strategic planning and goal- setting and ensures the financial stability of the school. The Board is responsible for appointing the Principal, to whom it delegates authority over the administration of the school and matters of curriculum and staffing. In keeping with membership requirements of the Canadian Accredited Independent Schools, the Board oversees the school and remains at arm’s length from the administration.

The Foundation receives and invests donations intended for Havergal College infrastructure, student assistance and other programs. It oversees the investment of funds raised by the Havergal community, ensuring that the assets of the Foundation are invested in a prudent and effective manner. The Havergal College Foundation is a registered charity under the Income Tax Act (Canada) and, as such, is exempt from income taxes and may issue receipts to donors for income tax purposes. The Foundation is incorporated as a corporation without share capital under the laws of Ontario and its Board of Trustees is independent of Havergal College.

Directors 2012–2013

Louise Park MacMillan 1972, Chair Paul Battaglia Christine Lay 1981 Cynthia Rutherford Patry 1988 Leta Karrys Stathacos 1949 Sareena Ghulati Wildberger 1988 Cynthia Thun Willauer 1958

Members 2012–2013 Ann Kerwin, Chair Eden Oliver 1978, Past Chair The Rev. Jenny Andison Kevin W. Daley Steve Dent Julie C. Di Lorenzo 1982 Jennifer Dolman 1984 Aidan P. Flatley John A. Francis Joanne Hyde Gooding 1982

Foundation Trustees 2012–2013

Richard G. Willoughby, Chair Jill Denham Kendra Dawson Doersam 1995 John Francis

Barry H. Gordon Sue Groesbeck Christine Morin-Higgs Andrew Moor Lois Smith Tim Stinson

Nancy Griffin Barrie Laver Chris Matthews

Dale McIntosh 1992 Michael Meneguzzi Melanie Plet 1992 Sean Regan Martha Cohen Simmons 1999 Peter Stavropoulos Edwina Dick Stoate 1975 Marianne Taggio Alexandra Warly 1983 Richard Willoughby Sue Groesbeck, Principal Kate Balsara-Pardoe, Corporate Treasurer Jill Azis, Corporate Secretary

Kate Balsara-Pardoe, Treasurer Louise Yearwood, Secretary


Made with FlippingBook Online document